Grants for Teachers

HSFCU Investing in Education Grant Program logo

Thank you for submitting your application for our 2024 Investing in Education Grant Program.

The portal to submit is now closed. Please check back to view the list of our 2024 recipients.

We recognize and appreciate the extraordinary effort and sacrifice Hawaii’s public school teachers provide to our community. Our Investing in Education grant assists teachers in the State of Hawaii Department of Education to obtain much-needed supplies, books, furniture, electronics, equipment and other basic necessities for their classrooms.

Grants up to $500 will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis.*

Eligibility and Requirements  |  Contact Us  |  Watch Our Video  |  2023 List of Recipients

See how this Kaimuki High School teacher’s dream for a school garden blossomed into hands-on learning opportunities for her students thanks to an Investing in Education teacher grant.

Eligibility and Requirements to Apply


•  Applicant must be a member of Hawaii State FCU.

•  Applicant must be currently employed in the State of Hawaii as a public school classroom teacher.

•  Application submissions are limited to one per teacher, per calendar year.

•  Recipients will be selected based on their essay submissions.

•  Applications will be reviewed in the order that they are received.


Teachers are required to answer these questions (500 character limit per answer):

•  What are your classroom needs and why aren’t there existing funds to obtain them?

•  What is your overall goal for these funds and how will it improve student learning?

•  How are these funds being used as a part of a critical need in order to deliver instruction?

•  Teachers must also provide detailed information on the items to be purchased and their costs. Include tax and shipping in your estimate.


Please email Sandra “Bunny” Tanaka at with any questions about the Investing in Education Grant Program or credit union membership eligibility.

Congratulations to Our 2023 Grant Recipients!

Sean A.
Jarrett Middle School

Amarilis A.
Lunalilo Elementary School

Heather A.
Hilo High School

Kimberlee A.
Waianae High School

Jolie A.
Waiau Elementary School

Maeva A.
Kahuku High & Intermediate School

Kayla A.
Waipahu Elementary School

Sara A.
Kihei Elementary School

Eric B.
Wahiawa Middle School

Kimberly B.
Leihoku Elementary School

Ember B.
Kauluwela Elementary School

Tanya C.
Pearl Harbor Elementary School

Alice D.
Aliamanu Middle School

Matthew D.
Nanakuli High & Intermediate School

Joanne D.
August Ahrens Elementary School

David D.
Jarrett Middle School

Romeo E.
Lanai High & Elementary School

Phillippe F.
DreamHouse Ewa Beach

Maury F.
Lincoln Elementary School

Sheri F.
Makakilo Elementary School

Sophia G.
Mililani Uka Elementary School

Xiaochen G.
Aliiolani Elementary School

Tino G.
Kapolei Middle School

Marilou G.
Heeia Elementary School

Lauren G.
Leihoku Elementary School

Jared H.
Haleiwa Elementary School

Kaha‘iola H.
Paia Elementary School

Elilynn H.
Salt Lake Elementary School

Drake H.
Waianae High School

Lianne H.
Waikele Elementary School

Rachel H.
Kaimuki Middle School

Shari I.
Kapunahala Elementary School

An’Gelle K.
Nanakuli High & Intermediate School

Kaylee K.
Paia Elementary School

Kaley K.
Holomua Elementary School

Sharel K.
Webling Elementary School

Jamie-Lynn K.
Ala Wai Elementary School

Michael K.
Makalapa Elementary School

Rayna K.
Pearl Harbor Elementary School

Vanessa K.
Kalihi Elementary School

Candide K.
Jefferson Elementary School

Dan L.
Kaiser High School

Jennifer L.
Haleiwa Elementary School

Kapuakuliaepilimaeole L.
Waikele Elementary School

Lynette L.
Kaimuki High School

Christy M.
Kaumualii Elementary School

Aimee M.
Ewa Makai Middle School

Ehren M.
Aliamanu Middle School

Joseph M.
Moanalua High School

Jessica M.
Makaha Elementary School

Christen M.
Kapolei High School

Cori Anne M.
Mililani Ike Elementary School

Anjanette N.
Lahainaluna High School

Dyon N.
Honowai Elementary School

Sara N.
Castle High School

Kylie N.
Ewa Beach Elementary School

Faryn O.
Paia Elementary School

Janine P.
Holomua Elementary School

Jessica P.
Leihoku Elementary School

Geri P.
Jarrett Middle School

Kaunanga P.
Laie Elementary School

Grace R.
Lehua Elementary School

Wileen R.
Puu Kukui Elementary School

Kaui S.
Holomua Elementary School

Markiesha S.
Ewa Elementary School

Mila S.
Kamaile Academy – PCS

Kaitlyn S.
Lahainaluna High School

Casi S.
Fern Elementary School

Roseanne S.
Kaala Elementary School

Heidi S.
Holomua Elementary School

Jeremy S.
Kapolei High School

Maya S.
Castle High School

John T.
Kalakaua Middle School

Lindsey T.
Lanakila Elementary School

Ashlyn T.
Aliiolani Elementary School

Sanoe T.
Radford High School

Kelli U.
Pearl City High School

Nicole V.
Kapolei High School

Chante W.
Nanakuli High & Intermediate School

Melanie Y.
Makaha Elementary School

Brian Y.
McKinley High School

Iris Y.
Wilson Elementary School

Where Money Has a Heart

Unlike a bank that’s more concerned with profit, we’re a not-for-profit concerned with our member’s financial and personal well-being. We’re all about people helping people. We hope that it shows in everything we do.
scholarships icon

Grants & Scholarships

Hawaii State FCU has already awarded more than half a million dollars in scholarships since 1996. Recipients each receive $5,000 to be used toward a university, college or trade/vocational school.

giving icon


It’s important to recognize and appreciate everything our Hawaii teachers do for our kids. That’s why we created the Investing in Education Grant. The money can be used to buy classroom supplies, books, electronics and more.

volunteering icon


We believe in volunteering for worthwhile causes in our local communities. Look for us out in the community year-round as we do our part to improve the lives of others.

Membership is a click away


* Grant recipients will be selected based on their essay submissions. The dollar value of each grant will vary up to $500 and will be determined based on individual need. To be eligible for the Investing in Education Grant, the applicant must be both a classroom teacher in the Department of Education and a member of Hawaii State Federal Credit Union. Grant funds will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. Application submissions are limited to one per teacher, per calendar year. All applications and essays must be submitted no later than 4/01/2024.

Third Party Site Disclaimer

We may provide links to external websites that refer to third party services and products available to Hawaii State FCU members, for enrollment in Hawaii State FCU financial education webinars, or other purposes. Please review the terms and conditions of use carefully. We do not make any express or implied representation or warranty to you concerning the quality, safety or suitability of external websites, or their services, products, or contents. External websites are not under our control and may have different security, privacy and other. Using the links may identify you as a Hawaii State FCU member to the external website operator.  Services and products from third parties are not obligations of, nor endorsed or guaranteed by, Hawaii State FCU nor the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund.  Alternative services and products may be obtained from other providers of your choice.

Click “ACCEPT” to enter an external website. Click “Cancel” to return to HSFCU’s website.

Please remember to log off of Online Banking and Mobile Banking before going to any external website.

Cancel Accept